The Job Hunt Nears Its End (Guest Post by Adam Palmer)

Title says it all…I have pieced together enough part-time jobs to keep me busy and feeling productive while still giving me enough time to knock out a season of The Office each week.

The first job, as I believe we said earlier, is at the International YMCA.  It is relatively easy, with two hours in my weekly schedule where my only job is to run around on the rooftop playground with a couple classes as a sort of recess.  Fortunately there is one American kid in each class who feeds me Japanese words so I can keep up with the rest of the kids.  Yata!

In addition to that, every Friday morning I teach an English class at a local community center,which I have to say is becoming a favorite.  Basically, eight or nine housewives bring their little ones to the center and for an hour and a half, I teach/listen and correct/sing.  After they found out I sing the first week, they demanded I bring my guitar the next week, which led to a pretty cool lesson.  In a frantic attempt to think of a song to sing, one of the ladies started humming Amazing Grace and asked if I knew it.  I played through it a couple times, then got the chance to explain the lyrics word for word.  The Japanese, though very vague and confusing in their own religious beliefs, are consequently fairly open to hearing about others.  So I was able to go into great detail about what “grace” is, as well as what a “wretch” is and what exactly we are being saved from and by whom.  (Right, not “who”?  I humble request a review from Mama ‘Lisa)

Each class ends in an intense battle to feed me.  Every mother there brings, usually, something store bought for me to try, as well as some signature homemade dish they want to educate me about.  Then they chat while I work off my heavy lunch by playing with the herd of toddlers that tornadoes through the room.

It has been very frustrating and humbling, but thank you all for your prayers, because we are getting to see them answered in very obvious and incredible ways.

2 thoughts on “The Job Hunt Nears Its End (Guest Post by Adam Palmer)

  1. Mom

    BTW “Whom” is correct, but check with Mama Lisa anyway. If I am reading your blog correctly, you teach at the YMCA one day a week for two hours and the ladies on Fridays. Is that right? What do you do on all of the other days? I thought that you were teaching soccer and English at the YMCA to pre-schoolers, second graders and/or kindergarteners. We definitely thought that you were teaching second graders.

    You have some cute little toddlers at the Friday class. Sounds like a great opportunity to share the Gospel and lead the ladies to the Lord. Will continue praying about the ministries that God is providing for you.

Leave a Reply

